Saturday’s Gifts

Involve sleeping in after a week of waking up at 5:30 to shovel snow.

And running (trundling??) through the five or so inches of snow covering the path around the Field of Dreams. But the world was pluckily alive with the sort of sparkly blue cheerfulness that is only possible when it’s January and life is predominately cold and white.

Reading Making Sense of it All , which I absolutely love. It’s so well written and funny.  But I love it even more because it’s Pascalian –  we all know how I feel about Pascal…

Making healthy cookies. Or everything cookies, or Grandpa’s kind of cookies. Recipe to follow as a reference for those of you who probably would like this recipe.

(Oh, and eating said cookies. That was good too.)

But here’s what I really want to mention: running into I.M. and being enthusiastically greeted with a huge hug and excessive “WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN?”s. Must be a Latin American thing to enthusiastically greet sort-of-friends as if they’re your practically-best-friends, but it’s a thing that I very much appreciated. It was just plain old really nice and really encouraging and made me really cheerful to have someone be so irrationally happy to see me.

I don’t expect that I’ll ever behave like this (I mean, me hugging everyone I meet? – not likely!), but I might learn a lesson from it. I might learn to channel some of my love for ideas towards people instead.

So cookies. That’s my method of channeling love to y’all today. Go make some cookies or save the recipe fir future baking and when you do make them, eat some and then eat some with someone else and then give some to someone else.

Healthy Cookies / Everything Cookies / Grandpa’s Kind of Cookies

– 2 cups dates or prunes, chopped

– 1 cup liquid

-2 cups oatmeal

-2 cups sugar

-1 teaspoon salt

-1 teaspoon baking powder

-1 teaspoon baking soda

-1 teaspoon cinnamon

-1/2 oil

-2 eggs

-2 cups flour

-dried fruit, chocolate, nuts, coconut: as desired

Chop the dates or prunes, pour the boiling water over top, set aside.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a bowl mix the oatmeal, sugar, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, oil and eggs.

In a separate bowl mix whatever dried fruit/chocolate/nuts etc. you’d like to add (no more than 3 cups worth, I’d say).

When the dates/prunes are well-soaked and the water has cooled down a bit, add them to the oatmeal, etc. bowl. Stir. Add 2 cups flour to this bowl. Then add the dried fruit/nuts/etc. to the bowl, stir.

Place cookies on WELL GREASED baking sheets and bake until just golden. I like them on the gooey side.

Leave a Reply

