Faithful Father.

Today I’m writing a paper about my concept of God. 3-4 pages. (Of course mine will be 4 pages crammed with as much print as possible.)

I’ve been doing some poking around, in my memories and among my books and notes, to help remind me of what my concept of God has been.

I’ve also turned to the Heidelberg Catechism, which I haven’t ever studied completely, but it’s the catechism I’m most familiar with. It’s also beautiful stuff – misery, deliverance, and gratitude. Here’s a Q&A from it that I’d like to share.

Lord’s Day 9: Q & A 26

Q. What do you believe when you say,
“I believe in God, the Father almighty,
creator of heaven and earth”?

A.That the eternal Father of our Lord Jesus Christ,                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        who out of nothing created heaven and earth                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               and everything in them,                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        who still upholds and rules them                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        by his eternal counsel and providence,                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                is my God and Father                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         because of Christ the Son.

I trust God so much that I do not doubt he will provide whatever I need
for body and soul, and will turn to my good whatever adversity he sends upon me
in this sad world.

God is able to do this because he is almighty God
and desires to do this because he is a faithful Father.

Leave a Reply

